Know your Jyotish Gemstones by Nakshatra

  December 19, 2016
gemstones and nakshatras

The 12-month zodiac is not the only zodiac to exist in The Heavens. There is another one too, known as the lunar zodiac. Since it is closer to planet Earth, the lunar zodiac is supposed to have a stronger bonding with the events taking place on this planet. Thus, it gives rise to the concept of nakshatras and gemstones in Vedic astrology.

What is the meaning of nakshatra?

Vedic astrology grants more importance to nakshatras, for they are supposed to aid in precise predictions and analysis. Towards this end, an experienced astrologer will prepare your janamanakshatra (natal chart), based upon the time and date of your birth. Here, the position of the moon within a given constellation (group of stars configured in a specific manner) is taken into account when you are born. Where is the natal moon positioned, and amidst which constellation at the time of your birth?

There are 27 nakshatras within the lunar zodiac. They are all located along the moon’s orbit. Each one rules over a particular constellation. The moon passes through every single nakshatra while completing its monthly revolution. Hindus grant great importance to this phenomenon, for they believe that the janamanakshatra reveals an individual’s negative and positive characteristics, thinking patterns, etc.

There is an interesting mythological story associated with the 27 nakshatras. There lived a king named Dakshan, in Ancient Times. He had 27 daughters in the form of nakshatras. Since polygamy was permissible in those days, the Moon married all of them. However, he refused to treat all of them equally. Instead, he favoured Rohini nakshatra over the other wives. Frustrated by his behaviour, the other nakshatras complained to their father. King Dakshan tried to make Moon change his behaviour, but did not succeed. An angered king cursed his son-in-law. His curse caused Moon to shrink in size. This could prove disastrous for the Earth and The Heavens. Sensing this, all the Gods intervened. They requested the king to withdraw his curse, assuring him that Moon would be equally affectionate towards all his wives. Now, a curse can never be revoked completely. Therefore, the king declared that Moon would acquire his original grandeur for 15 days of a month. He would lose his strength during the other 15 days. This is why the moon visits all the nakshatras during the month, undergoing waxing and waning. This is also the reason why we observe Purnima and Amavasya during the month.

Which gemstones are associated with which nakshatra?

  • Cat’s Eye – Ashwini, Maughaa, Mula
  • Diamond – Bharani, Poorva Phalguni, Poorvashada
  • Ruby – Kriattika, Uttara Phalguni, Uttarshshaarhaa
  • Pearl – Rohini, Hasta, Shravana
  • Red Coral – Mrigashira, Chitra, Dhanishta
  • Hessonite – Ardra, Swati, Shatabhishshaa
  • Yellow Sapphire – Punarvasu, Vishakha, Poorvabhadrapada
  •  Emerald – Ashelsha, Jyeshta, Revathi

Copyright © All rights reserved.
Vedicratna and Gemstones